California Auto Insurance Information

The Ryan Hayes Insurance Brokerage (RHIB) is pleased to provide auto insurance in California.  We offer low cost auto insurance online even if you have a less than perfect driving record, have never been insured before, have let your policy lapse, or have had your coverage suspended or revoked.

We’ve provided some information below that we hope will be helpful in answering some of the more common questions we’ve received from our customers.

Mandatory Minimum Level of Coverage

California’s Compulsory Financial Responsibility Law requires every driver and owner of a motor vehicle to be financially responsible for their actions.  The statutory minimum limits of liability insurance are:

Bodily Injury

- $15,000 for the death or injury of any one person, any one accident
- $30,000 for all persons in any one accident

Property Damage

- $5,000 for any one accident

Consumer Rights/Protections Related to California Auto Insurance

California Proposition 103: In November of 1988, Proposition 103 (Prop.103) was enacted into law by the voters of California.  It provides many consumer protections related to purchasing and maintaining auto insurance.

View the California Proposition 103 Fact Sheet for more information.

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding California Auto Insurance

What Happens If I Don’t Carry Auto Insurance?

In California, it’s mandatory to have Proof of Insurance at all times.  Not providing Proof of Insurance when it’s requested may result in a fine or suspended license.  The General® can provide instant Proof of Insurance for California drivers.

What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Liability Insurance?

Judges can impound the vehicles of frequent, flagrant violators.  If you provide false evidence of auto insurance coverage and your driver’s license is suspended, the suspension cannot be lifted until you demonstrate genuine Proof of Insurance.

When Must You Show Proof of Insurance?

The Legislature passed a law requiring motorists to produce Proof of Insurance before the Department of Motor Vehicles renews vehicle registration.  The legislation also requires motorists to display Proof of Insurance when stopped by a police officer for traffic violations.

How Do I Prove I Have Insurance?

Your insurance company will send you a Proof of Insurance card listing the covered automobiles and drivers and showing the policy number and expiration date.  Your policy or a temporary binder is also acceptable evidence of insurance.

What if you’re currently driving without coverage?

The RHIB in many cases offers almost instant proof of insurance when you buy auto insurance online at our website.

Leave a Reply